View Document

University Council - Remuneration and Reimbursement of Council Members Procedure

This is the current version of this document. To view historic versions, click on the 'Historic Versions' tab above.

Section 1 - Summary

(1) This Procedure outlines the requirements for the annual remuneration to Council and Council Committee members and the reimbursement of any expenses incurred.

Top of Page

Section 2 - TEQSA/ASQA/ESOS Alignment

(2) HESF: Standards 6.1.1 and 6.1.2 Corporate Governance

Top of Page

Section 3 - Scope

(3) This Procedure applies to Council and Council Committee Members.

Top of Page

Section 4 - Definitions

(4) Nil

Top of Page

Section 5 - Policy/Regulation

(5) See University Council Regulations 2021.

Top of Page

Section 6 - Procedures

Part A - Summary of Roles and Responsibilities

Roles Responsibilities
Council Secretary or nominee - Will arrange payments for Council and Council Committee members in line with Remuneration Committee and Council determinations.

- Will arrange for reimbursement incurred by Council and Council Committee members provided that appropriate documentation is submitted by members.

Part B - Remuneration

(6) Council members (including its Committee members) are entitled to be remunerated and reimbursed for expenses incurred during the course of Council or committee business unless they are not eligible under section 16 of the Victoria University Act 2010 (Vic) (the Act).

Levels of Council Remuneration

(7) Council members will be remunerated within the levels outlined in the ‘Government for Victorian Governance Boards, Statutory Bodies and Advisory Committee Guidelines’ or equivalent. Council will determine the actual level of remuneration.

Basis for Payment of Remuneration for Council Service

(8) Payment for remuneration will be retrospective and on an annual calendar-year basis (January - December). Student members appointed to Council will be remunerated retrospectively but on a quarterly basis.

(9) Remuneration payments will be on a pro-rata basis for the proportion of the year that Council membership is in effect.

(10) If a Council member is granted leave of absence for three months or longer in a calendar year they will not be remunerated for that period of absence.

(11) Payments will be made through the University payment system and cannot be made to private companies, as remuneration is deemed to be for the personal service of members.

(12) In the event that Council needs the professional services of an external individual to fulfil highly specific requirements of a Standing Committee, a sitting fee may be paid to an individual at a competitive professional rate negotiated with the individual or company concerned. The amount of the sitting fee will be reviewed annually by the Remuneration Committee of Council.

Method of Payment

(13) Eligible Council members will be contacted towards the end of each year by the Council Secretary to ascertain their wish to be remunerated.

(14) Should a member of Council cease to be a member before the end of the year and has indicated her/his wish to be remunerated, then remuneration will be calculated before the normal end-of-year period.

(15) The remuneration is subject to PAYG tax under ATO legislation, employer superannuation guarantee contributions, Workcover levy and Payroll Tax. Before payment is made, there is a requirement for each eligible member to complete a Taxation Declaration form and provide bank account details.

Reimbursement of Expenses

(16) Council members and standing committee members (in the conduct of their activities on Council, Council Standing Committees or other specific Council-related activities) are eligible to claim for reasonable expenses (unless they are in one of the categories precluded by the Act). These expenses include:

  1. expenses relating to car travel;
  2. car parking costs;
  3. transport costs; and
  4. child care expenses.

(17) Claims for reimbursement, together with substantiating documentation which must include original tax invoice and receipt, should be submitted to the Council Secretary, Governance and Secretariat Unit.